Sharon Sager of UBS Honored for Support of Alzheimer’s Research

October 30, 2017

Category: Events

On Friday, October 27, Sharon Sager from UBS received The Charles Evans Award from the Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation (ADDF) at our Eighth Annual Fall Symposium & Luncheon “Hope on the Horizon” at The Pierre in New York City. This year was the largest and most successful in the event’s history, welcoming over 400 guests and raising over $1.2 million for Alzheimer’s research.  

Nine-time Emmy Award winner and ADDF Board member Paula Zahn hosted the engaging afternoon. In her opening remarks, Ms. Zahn noted: “Hope is what we are here to talk about. Hope for the 47 million people across the globe with Alzheimer’s.” ADDF Co-Founder and Co-Chairman Ronald S. Lauder shared that promising new drugs for Alzheimer’s have reached clinical trials and are now being tested with patients who need them, thanks to the ADDF and its donors. He told the audience: “It takes millions of dollars to do this work. And we are going to do more. To win a race, you don’t slow down when you see the finish line. You push harder.”

During the Luncheon, Leonard A. Lauder joined his brother, Ronald, to present the Charles Evans Award to Sharon Sager, Managing Director, Wealth Management and Private Wealth Advisor at UBS, for her support of Alzheimer’s research. Ms. Sager spoke bravely about her own family’s experience with Alzheimer’s. She also described the affect it is having on the financial industry, as more people plan for a potential diagnosis. But, she said, “I have hope. I am optimistic that, one day soon, families and their advisors won't have to plan for an Alzheimer's diagnosis.”

The morning Symposium was led by the ADDF’s Executive Director Howard Fillit and featured researchers who have all reached clinical trials after many years spent developing their drugs. The three distinguished panelists—Leen Kawas from M3 Biotechnology, Jerri Rook of Vanderbilt University, and Mark Gurney of Tetra Discovery Partners—have all received critical funding from the ADDF for their drug research.

Guests at the inspiring event included Renée and Robert Belfer, Carol Seabrook Boulanger, Thia Breene and Laurie Dowley, Nancy Corzine, Joyce B. Cowin, Charles M. Diker, Joel Ehrenkranz, Bonnie Pfeifer Evans, Mary-Ann Freda, Paul Fribourg, Stephanie Ginsberg, Roslyn Goldstein, Nancy Goodes, Michal Grayevsky, Susan Gutfreund, Jane Hertzmark Hudis, Christopher Johnson, Raymond and Veronica Kelly, Deborah Krulewitch, Judy Glickman Lauder, Bonnie Englebardt Lautenberg, Laurence Leeds, Jr., Tom and Heidi McWilliams, Julie Medler, Pamela J. Newman, Sydney Picasso, Phebe Farrow Port, Sheila Johnson Robbins, Maria Savettiere, Frances G. Scaife, George Schiele, John H. Scully, Alice Shure, Loring Swasey, Isaiah Thomas, Stephen Toma, Adrienne and Gianluigi Vittadini, Stanford Warshawsky, and Wendy L. Wilshin.

Everyone who made a donation during the luncheon was eligible to win one of a range of gifts provided by the ADDF’s generous supporters, including The Estée Lauder Companies Inc., the New York City Ballet, The St. Regis New York, The Hermitage Club, Anya Hindmarch, La Grenouille, Hamilton Farm Golf Club, and The Spa at the Peninsula Hotel.

The ADDF sincerely thanks Judy & Leonard A. Lauder, Jo Carole and Ronald S. Lauder, and the entire Host Committee for their leadership and support. We also offer our gratitude to our generous sponsors: The Estée Lauder Companies Inc., Staples, and UBS.      

Image: Host Paula Zahn, Co-Chairman Ronald S. Lauder, and Honoree Sharon Sager. ©Patrick McMullan Photo - Sean Zanni/PMC